Aviation

Dreams of the Sky and Beyond

By 2018-07-24January 20th, 202012 Comments

It is the year 1995, I am 12 years old. I have been living in the United States for the last five years and visit my home in Germany for the summer. There, I get to fly in the front seat of a single-engine plane with a friend’s father. From that moment on, my destiny is sealed. Watching the ground recede beneath me, seeing the world through the panorama windows of that tiny cockpit gives me a new view of life and the universe we live in. Back in the US, flying is all I will talk about. I badger my parents until they let me take my first flying lesson in an Aerospatiale Tampico. For the next two years, I get one lesson each month instead of an allowance. It isn’t much to really progress (and I am too young to get my private anyway), but it is the coolest thing in the world! I am a kid who wouldn’t be allowed to touch the steering wheel of a car for half a decade. Yet here I am, doing steep turns, stalls and landing an airplane with nearly no help from the instructor! With an equally keen interest in space, I soon go from wanting to become a pilot to going the next step and becoming an astronaut. Books about aviation and spaceflight litter the floor of my room. I make checklists for everything, including my biggest hobby, photography.
When we move back to Germany in 1997, flying vanishes from my life. Lessons on powered airplanes are exorbitantly expensive in Europe. Time passes, I finish school and my father asks me what I want to become. I have been trying to avoid this question because in my understanding, becoming a pilot involves huge financial risks with a slim chance of getting a good job from the start. I remember my instructor in the US working hard as CFI to gather enough hours to have a chance at flying for the regional airlines. It’s all very uncertain, too uncertain for someone who needs structure and a clear path. Going to space as an astronaut seems even more impossible, since that sounds like a part-time job only done on top of a career as scientist or military pilot. Little do I know how poorly informed I am! In answer to my dad’s question, I have been considering studying to be an engineer or going to med school. He tells me that a major German airline has an amazing training program. Assuming you got in – and only 5% of the applicants do – you get a top class education as commercial pilot and – assuming you pass it all, which 95% of trainees do – you are guaranteed a job at the airline!

When I visit the airline’s recruitment website, the dream is alive once again. It’s all photos of young people enjoying flight training in the Arizona desert and pilots in tailored uniforms, their hands on the thrust levers of big jets. That’s what I want! I apply for the training program and – a pilot always needs a valid plan B – to med school. Two rounds of assessment center evaluation follow. The first checks my technical and physical knowledge, ability to calculate, logical thinking, concentration, memory, perception speed, orientation ability, sensorimotor coordination and personality traits. Having passed these tests, I am invited to two days of one-on-one and group tests to analyze my cooperation, coordination and control skills, self-reflection, resilience, reliability and discipline as well as commitment and motivation. The final interview with a captain of the airline and several psychologists, who fire questions at me for the better part of an hour, ends with the words “You have passed, congratulations!”. In this moment, I feel like I am already flying.

In my emotional high, I reorganize my life. I turn down my spot in med school. For the last two weeks, I have been attending lectures at the university where I intend to combine my commercial pilot training with a degree in engineering. It’s not an obligation, much rather a rarely-used option in Germany. Now I can stop living with fellow students and in hostels and look for my own apartment, all while studying from morning to night. Three semesters of university lectures, two more semesters of theoretical flight training and dozens of exams later, I board a Boeing 747 on the way to Phoenix, Arizona. Six months of tough but rewarding practical training on a Beech Bonanza await. Five days a week, I learn to fly that old plane like an airliner. After 18 flights and 27.5 hours, I am allowed to fly it alone! Nothing in a pilot’s life will ever be like that first solo. For just over 100 years, man has been able to take flight like the birds he has envied for millennia. When you pilot an airplane for the first time without the help of an instructor, you cross a threshold. You are no longer a being of the ground, you are a being of the air.
I am trained to proficiency, first according to visual flight rules (looking out), then by using only the instruments in the plane for navigation. Back in Germany, I have one more semester of classes before the final set of exams. Three days of tests, fourteen subjects and 10,000 possible questions are the Mount Olympus an aspiring airline pilot has to climb. It’s an exciting wait until receiving the letter certifying you’ve passed every subject! And the training goes on. Multi-engine training pushes my knowledge further and already the airline is asking me to apply for Boeing 737 or Airbus A320. It’s an extraordinary luxury, having the choice between the two. While my peers are disappointed over the limited amount of B737 spots, I am more than happy to be assigned to the A320. Three months in the simulator, a skill test, twelve “base training” landings in a real A320 and I am ready to fly passengers around Europe. Of course, there is still a training pilot guiding and checking me for three challenging months until I pass one last final check.

I have done it! I have become an airline pilot! I can rest now, but I know that this will be a life-long journey of learning. As I fly the A320 from Scandinavia to northern Africa, from Scotland to Turkmenistan, my knowledge grows. As I deal with abnormal situations, medicals and unruly passengers with my captains, I prepare to become a commander myself. My next career step comes after ten years: first officer on Airbus A380. It will take a few more years before I move to the left seat, but there’s plenty to learn. The more I have experienced, the better a captain I can become.
And space? It still beckons! In 2016, the French astronaut Thomas Pesquet launched to the International Space Station for a six-month mission. His career? He had started as an aerospace engineer and worked as an airline pilot flying that same A320 I have flown. And so, all the pieces fall into place: I am living my teenage dream, well on the career path I had never imagined possible. And it all began when a 12-year-old kid had his first flight in a sport plane.

Join the discussion 12 Comments

  • Jean-Philippe Dubois says:

    I enjoyed reading your first blog! Your a gifted men, you are courageous. Wish I had no fear of flying, still I guess I would feel safe having you as my pilote for my next travel to space ! You will make it. Wishing you lots of success !!!

    • Ulrich Beinert says:

      Thank you so much! I am happy to hear you are enjoying my blog and that you would trust your life in my hands. Best regards, Ulrich!

    • Deborah Reynolds says:

      Just amazing and unique and your story move or excited about life situation. I truly enjoy reading this on July 21, 2019. My name is Deborah Reynolds from highlands county Florida in America

  • Nicolas says:

    This is a great post to start a blog! I already can’t wait to read your next one! Keep going and maybe I‘m aboard of one of your next flights departing EDDM!? ?

    • Ulrich Beinert says:

      Thank you, Nicolas. You probably already saw my second post and the third is almost ready. This time, I’m writing about my layover activities! Let me know when you fly the A380 from MUC and maybe we’ll meet!

  • Abdu Rahman says:

    I can relate to your story completley till the part where you attended training. The dream of becoming a pilot still keeps me up at night. I am trying to save as much as possible in the hope becoming a pilot one day. I wish I had a mentor to steer me in the right path.

  • Abdu Rahman says:

    I can completely relate to your story till the part where you attended training. The dream of becoming a pilot still keeps me up at night just like it did bavk when I was a child. I am trying to save as mucb as possible in the hope of flying a commenrcial jet. I wish I had a mentor to steer me in the right path.

    • Ulrich Beinert says:

      Thank you for your comment, Abdu! It’s wonderful that young people like yourself have such big dreams. Keep following them and be open to whatever may come. Sometimes, it’s something totally different from what you originally imagined. It may lead you back to the old dream or to new dreams. Best of luck to you!

  • Bhuvanesh kumar says:

    Is the european flight academy is only for Europeans? OR it is world wide people’s

  • I can relate to your beginnings in aviation! It’s amazing to see a dream realized and the hard road to get there makes you appreciate it that much more.

was successfully added to your cart.
Luftfahrt

Der Traum vom Fliegen – in den Himmel und darüber hinaus

Wir schreiben das Jahr 1995, ich bin 12 Jahre alt. Ich habe die letzten fünf Jahre in den USA gelebt und besuche im Sommer meine Heimat in Deutschland. Dort fliege ich mit dem Vater eines Freundes auf dem Copilotensitz eines einmotorigen Flugzeuges. Von diesem Moment an ist mein Schicksal besiegelt. Den Boden unter mir schwinden zu sehen, die Welt durch das Panoramafenster dieses winzigen Cockpits zu betrachten geben mir eine neue Perspektive auf das Leben und das Universum, in dem wir leben. Wieder in den USA angekommen spreche ich nur noch übers Fliegen. Ich liege meinen Eltern so lange damit in den Ohren, bis sie mir meine erste Flugstunde in einer Aerospatiale Tampico bezahlen. Zwei Jahre lang bekomme ich jeden Monat an Stelle eines Taschengeldes eine Flugstunde. Es reicht nicht für große Fortschritte (ich bin ohnehin zu jung, um meine Privatpilotenlizenz zu erhalten), aber es ist das coolste Gefühl der Welt! Ich bin ein Kind, das ein halbes Jahrzehnt lang noch kein Auto lenken dürfen wird. Doch hier fliege ich Steilkurven, übe Strömungsabrisse und lande fast ohne Hilfe des Lehrers ein Flugzeug! Mit einem ähnlich großen Interesse am Weltall gehe ich bald einen Schritt weiter und will nicht nur Pilot, sondern Astronaut werden. Bücher über Luft- und Raumfahrt liegen in meinem Kinderzimmer verstreut. Ich mache für alles Checklisten, auch für mein größtes Hobby, die Fotografie.
Als wir 1997 nach Deutschland zurück ziehen, verschwindet die Fliegerei aus meinem Leben. Flugstunden auf Motorflugzeugen sind in Europa exorbitant teuer. Die Zeit vergeht, ich mache mein Abitur und mein Vater fragt mich, was ich werden möchte. Ich habe versucht, diese Frage zu vermeiden, denn der Pilotenberuf beinhaltet für mich riesige finanzielle Risiken und eine außerordentlich geringe Chance, einen guten Arbeitsplatz zu finden. Ich erinnere mich, wie hart mein Fluglehrer in den USA arbeitete, um genügend Flugstunden für die Chance auf eine Anstellung bei einer Regionalfluggesellschaft zu haben. Es ist alles sehr ungewiss; zu unsicher für jemand, der Struktur und einen klaren Pfad braucht. Als Astronaut ins All zu fliegen scheint noch unwahrscheinlicher, da das wie ein Teilzeitjob klingt, den man einer Karriere als Wissenschaftler oder Militärpilot aufsetzt. Ich könnte nicht schlechter informiert sein! Um die Frage meines Vaters zu beantworten: Ich habe mit dem Gedanken gespielt, Maschinenbau oder Medizin zu studieren. Er erzählt mir, dass eine große deutsche Fluggesellschaft ein fantastisches Trainingsprogramm hat. Vorausgesetzt, man wird angenommen – das schaffen nur 5% der Bewerber – bekommt man eine erstklassige Ausbildung als Verkehrspilot und – vorausgesetzt, man besteht alle Tests, was 95% der Schüler erreichen – ist einem der Arbeitsplatz bei der Airline sicher!

Ich besuche die Rekrutierungswebsite der Airline und mein Traum lebt wieder. Ich sehe Fotos von jungen Menschen, die ihre Flugausbildung in Arizona genießen, und von Piloten in maßgeschneiderten Uniformen, ihre Hände auf den Schubhebeln der großen Jets. Das will ich! Ich bewerbe mich für die Ausbildung und – ein Pilot benötigt immer einen validen Plan B – für einen Medizinstudienplatz. Es folgen zwei Runden Auswahlverfahren. Die erste prüft mein technisch-physikalisches Wissen, Mathematikkenntnisse, Rechenfertigkeit und logisches Denken, Konzentrationsvermögen und Aufmerksamkeit, Merkfähigkeit, Wahrnehmungsgeschwindigkeit, räumliches Orientierungsvermögen, Psychomotorik und Mehrfacharbeit sowie relevante Persönlichkeitsmerkmale. Mit dem Bestehen dieser Prüfungen werde ich zu zwei Tagen Einzel- und Gruppentests eingeladen, die meine Kooperation, Koordination, Selbstreflexion, Resilienz, Zuverlässigkeit und Disziplin sowie Engagement und Motivation analysieren. Das abschließende Interview mit einem Kapitän der Airline und mehreren Psychologen, die mich den Großteil einer Stunde mit Fragen löchern, endet mit den Worten “Sie haben bestanden, herzlichen Glückwunsch!”. In diesem Moment fühlt es sich an, als würde ich schon fliegen.

Von Glücksgefühlen getragen kremple ich mein Leben um. Ich lehne den Medizinstudienplatz ab. In den letzten zwei Wochen habe ich Vorlesungen an der Hochschule besucht, in der ich meine Flugausbildung mit einem Ingenieursstudium verbinden möchte. Es ist keine Verpflichtung, vielmehr eine in Deutschland selten genutzte Option. Jetzt kann ich aufhören, bei Kommilitonen und in Hostels zu leben und meine eigene Wohnung suchen, während ich von morgens bis abends lerne. Nach Drei Semestern Vorlesungen, zwei Semestern theoretischer Flugausbildung und dutzenden Prüfungen sitze ich in einer Boeing 747 auf dem Weg nach Phoenix, Arizona. Sechs Monate anspruchsvolles, aber lohnendes Training auf einer Beech Bonanza erwarten mich. An fünf Tagen in der Woche lerne ich, das alte Flugzeug wie einen Airliner zu fliegen. Nach 18 Flügen und 27.5 Stunden darf ich es zum ersten mal allein! Nichts im Leben eines Piloten wird jemals so sein wie dieses erste Solo. Seit wenig mehr als 100 Jahren kann der Mensch in die Luft empor steigen wie die Vögel, die er seit Jahrtausenden bewundert. Wenn man das erste mal ohne Lehrer ein Flugzeug steuert überschreitet man eine Schwelle. Man ist nicht länger ein Wesen des Bodens, man ist ein Wesen der Luft.
Ich werde auf höchstem Niveau trainiert, zunächst nach Sichtflugregeln (raus schauen), anschließend um nur mit den Instrumenten im Flugzeug zu navigieren. In Deutschland habe ich ein letztes Semester Theorieunterricht vor der letzten Prüfungsrunde. Drei Tage Tests, vierzehn Fächer und 10,000 Fragen sind der Olymp, den ein angehender Verkehrspilot besteigen muss. Aufgeregt warte ich auf den Brief der mir bescheinigt, dass ich jedes Fach bestanden habe! Und das Training geht weiter. Die Ausbildung auf mehrmotorigen Flugzeugen erweitert mein Wissen und schon fragt die Airline nach meiner Bewerbung auf Boeing 737 oder Airbus A320. Es ist ein außerordentlicher Luxus, diese Auswahl zu haben. Während meine Kollegen über die geringe Anzahl an Stellen auf 737 enttäuscht sind freue ich mich auf die Einteilung auf A320. Drei Monate im Simulator, ein Check, zwölf Landungen in einem echten A320 und ich bin bereit, Passagiere kreuz und quer durch Europa zu fliegen. Natürlich trainiert und prüft mich drei anspruchsvolle Monate lang noch ein Ausbilder, bis ich einen letzten Check bestehe.

Ich habe es geschafft! Ich bin Verkehrspilot geworden! Jetzt kann ich mich ausruhen, doch ich weiß, dass dies eine lebenslange Reise des Lernens sein wird. Während ich den A320 von Skandinavien nach Nordafrika, von Schottland nach Turkmenistan fliege, wächst mein Wissen. Die Systemausfälle, medizinischen Notfälle und randalierenden Passagiere, mit denen ich in Zusammenarbeit mit meinen Kapitänen umgehe, bereiten mich darauf vor, selbst Kommandant zu sein. Mein nächster Karriereschritt kommt nach zehn Jahren: erster Offizier auf Airbus A380. Es wird noch einige Jahre dauern, bis ich auf den linken Sitz wechsle, doch es gibt viel zu lernen. Je mehr Erfahrung ich habe, umso besser kann ich selbst eine Crew führen.
Und das Weltall? Es ruft noch immer! Im Jahr 2016 startete der französische Astronaut Thomas Pesquet auf eine sechsmonatige Mission auf die Internationale Raumstation. Seine Karriere? Er hatte als Luft- und Raumfahrtingenieur angefangen und arbeitete als Verkehrspilot auf dem gleichen A320, den ich auch geflogen bin. So finden die Puzzleteile ihren Platz: Ich lebe meinen Jugendtraum auf dem Karriereweg, den ich nie für möglich gehalten hatte. Und alles begann, als ein 12-jähriger Junge seinen ersten Flug in einem Sportflugzeug hatte.

Leave a Reply